Yamas & Niyamas : A Yogi’s Way of Life

by Katie Bock

Yoga is a complex yet simple practice.  Although there are different branches of yoga and several asana styles, it is clearly stated that there are ten principles of life.  And so what does that mean?  Patanjali discusses this in the Yoga Sutras.  The ten principles of life are a way of life or ethical guidelines.  It is an approach to life that creates simplicity, transformation, and fulfillment.  This is a yogi’s way of life.

Yamas & Niyamas

Are you still with me?  Curious as to what this all means?  I was too!

Yamas and Niyamas are like a map, guiding you towards your fulfilling life.  Yama in Sanskrit means restraints and Niyama means observances.

Yamas are

  • Ahimsa or Nonviolence
  • Satya or Truthfulness
  • Asteya or Nonstealing
  • Brahmacharya or Nonexcess
  • Aparigraha or Nonpossessiveness

Niyamas are

  • Saucha or Purity
  • Santosha or Contentment
  • Tapas or Self-Discipline
  • Svadhaya or Self-Study
  • Ishvara Pranidhana or Surrender

These are powerful stops on the map and with each one comes transformation.  Each Yama and Niyama lead us towards a fulfilling life.  The next Ten weeks I will be diving deeper into each one of these, join me on this journey. Follow Facebook to see each Yama and Niyama discovered further.

Dive deeper yourself, check out The Yamas & Niyamas By Deborah Adele or Read The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali by Sri Swami Satchidananda

Explore, Transform, and be Fulfilled in your life!

You May also be Interested in

Yoga Exploration: Branches of Yoga

DIY Immune Support

How to Keep Toxins out of Your Home